Race Series/Club Champs 2010

Congrats to all who competed in the Race Series/Club Champs 2010, Sponsored by Top Gear Cycles

Club Champs Decider & Final Race of the Summer Series 2010!! - (full results are available in results tab)

Taupo Cycling Club held the final race of the Clubs Champs/Summer Series on Sunday the 11th April. A big thanks to our sponsors for this series Top Gear Cycles and special thanks to Dianne Gulland of Skin Matters for the vouchers ( I’m sure some of guys could do with some beauty treatments after a tough day of racing), Maxine White from Hands for Health and Allan Jones for the massage vouchers, they will be greatly appreciated.

Taupo turned one of its best Autumn days with fine weather and light winds and the club had another record turnout of riders keen to get the last of the points for top 3 placings in their respective grades. There was some extremely serious rivalry between the top contenders in all the grades as some were equal or very close on points. With detailed discussions on race tactics and who beat who in the super fast sprint finishes, hopefully all bragging rights were sorted at prizegiving afterwards. This may have been helped along by the odd ale consumed, thanks to Shane & the team from The Shed for making this a great afternoon.

The Taupo Cycling Club Champions for 2010 are;

A Grade
1st Wayne McConachy
2nd Grant Nicol
3rd Jarrod Alty

B Grade
1st Dean Pritchard
2nd John Ellery
3rd Trevor Stevens

C Grade
1st Mike Langley
2nd Craig McDonald
3rd Crunchie Donaldson

D Grade
1st Chad Keir
2nd Greg Fournier
3rd Brian Scott

Taupo Cycling Club is planning another race series towards the end of the year to co-inside with the start of daylight savings, in the meantime anyone wishing to ride or race will still have plenty of opportunity over the winter as we still have Tuesday night racing at the Motorsport Park (lights required), Wednesday night track racing at the velodrome and bunch rides leaving from outside Famers every Sunday morning.

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2010