AvantiPlus Taupo Winter Series Race 2

On Saturday afternoon 16 Taupo Cycling Club riders turned out for the second race of our AvantiPlus Taupo Winter Series.

This event was an individual time trial held on Tukairangi Road - this road is quite testing, being slightly uphill on the way out with a steep uphill section on the way back again. It was a perfect day for road cycling with no wind and relatively warm, compared to the lousy weather we have had to put up with recently.

In the junior group Ben Watson had an excellent ride and was quickest for the 16km in 38min 24sec., James Weal was second in 39.22 and Kyle Goucher third in 47.03.

The women rode 2 laps or 32km and quickest? was Sheryl Duncan in 1hr 17min, second Jenny Loe in 1.24 and third Wendy in 1.25.

Barry Pritchard was the fastest of the men cutting out the 32km in 1hr 8min, followed by Craig McDonald 1.10 (once again our sponsor having a very good ride), Stephen Holdsworth 1.12, Bevan King 1.14, Dave 1.14, Ken McGavin 1.21, Mike Langley 1.24 and Geoff Neame 1.26. Dion Goil and Dave Strom both cut out the hill on the second lap, so registered a DNF!

The winners went home with a prize package from Craig at AvantiPlus Taupo and we look forward to a good turnout at our third? event of the series which will be a mix of sprints, scratch and points races held? at the velodrome on Saturday 6 September at 2pm.

Posted: Fri 29 Aug 2008